Sedap bak chor mee!!!

i had this immense craving for bak chor mee at crawford lane after reading reviews from ieatishootipost. actually i’ve tried it before when we (the housemates and me) came back for a holiday abt 1 yr ago. the female housemate lives on the BCM here! so it was a must-go place when we came back. i remember the chilli being so spicy and shiok that somehow the male housemate and me would get earblocks after eating the noodles. weird but true.

so anyway, i was telling my colleague (more like whining, truth be told) that i want to eat BCM for lunch. he asks where and i told him. surprise, surprise! the stall belongs to his friend’s uncle -> translated as his friend is the stall owner’s nephew. i don’t know why he told me this cos i don’t know if my colleague can cut queue or get extra ingredients. but it’s human nature to want to have a relationship right? somehow, we always like to relate ourselves to strangers (‘oh, he’s my friend’s friend’s friend.’ or ‘she is actually my auntie’s nephew-in-law’s sister’) you get the idea. i digress.

long story short, colleague brought me to have BCM for lunch (mee pok tah, gei chor “mee pok dry, extra vinegar”) and actually paid for my lunch cos i only had $2 on me and there’s no ATM in sight. no pictures because i didn’t want to scare the uncle who was sharing a table with us.

it was really yummilicious. the ingredients were fresh and i even ate the pork slices and pork mince! i don’t usually eat pork, i’d just eat the noodles and leave the bak chor behind for those dining with me to pick on. and oooh, the vinegar!!! so sourish yet drinkable at the same time. the smell of it is enough to get me salivating. i’m now a satisfied girl. *burps*

==========

on the same topic of food, the same colleague and i had a mini discussion in our weekly meeting on whether tapas are spanish or mexican. he says mexican, i say spanish. couldn’t arrive at a conclusion so i told him “i’ll google for the answer. if it’s mexican, the BCM lunch is on me (forgot that I only had $2 on me then). if it’s spanish, then you must treat me to Kazu at Cuppage!” so smart of me right? i lose, i pay $4 for BCM. he lose, he pays $XX for japanese meal! hahahaha!

i didn’t have time to google after the meeting as we were rushing to get stuff done before leaving the office for lunch. just remembered abt 30mins ago and promptly googled. very kan cheong to know if it’s BCM or Japanese lunch. haha.

.

.

.

.

.

*drum rolls pls*

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

yay!!! I’ll be having Japanese food!!! Taken from Wiki, Tapas (IPA: [ˈtapas]) is the name for a wide variety of appetizers in Spanish cuisine. Tapas are actually also present in USA, UK and Phillipines, besides Spain. BUT because Tapa means “lid” or “cover” in Spanish, so I’d think the roots are in Spain. So I’m right! Immediately sent him an sms “Dear sir, according to wiki, tapas is the name for a wide variety of appetizers in SPANISH cuisine. so i see and smell japanese food coming my way! 🙂

i very bad hor? =P

4 thoughts on “Sedap bak chor mee!!!

  1. p.sawyer says:

    how you know it’s punk rock? haha..

    no lah… say say only… kazu damn ex leh! can go up to $200 for 2! i think the most is japanese at the food court. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

