Asian pop

I wasn’t really into Korean entertainment (still isn’t, but I think this group is quite cool) so I didn’t really know how popular Super Junior is until I watched this year’s 台湾金曲奖 where they were a guest and performed. I was gobsmacked by the large number of members and the fan base, thinking to myself “who are they?!” I thought their songs were typical pop songs and so appealed to teenyboppers. But I have to admit that the songs will grow onto you after some time.

Then the colleague at work became obsessed with Korean culture and everything about it, often talking to us about K-dramas and K-pop. Then yesterday they were talking about Super Junior’s new song “Super Girl”. It sounded quite funny, the way they were describing it, so I had to have a look for myself.

Their early-days look is quite horrifying – very typical of young age. It was almost like HOT, Kangta style. Wet-look spiky hair, act-cool street punk clothes and single side earring. Luckily they have a more polished and matured look now, otherwise I wouldn’t even have googled about them!

THEN:

NOW:

I don’t know most of the members (only recognise Hangeng (the Chinese guy), the leader (don’t even know his name but I think he looks like Jimmy Hung) and Kyuhyun) but the guy 2nd from right is wearing a YSL tee which I think looks very nice!

Super Junior has got 13 members (!!!) and I think Kyuhyun is pretty cute. Oh well, I’m all about single eyelid guys, so I suppose most Korean guys would appeal to me. HAHAHAHAHA.

One thought on “Asian pop

Leave a Reply

