Shanghai 2012 – Part 2

Staying at mum’s place also meant that we can cook her a meal, and cook her breakfast we did!

French toast with caramelized bananas

French toast with caramelized bananas

Mum’s place was pretty near the Shanghai Science & Technology museum (its basement houses a lot of sellers selling counterfeit goods) and so we headed over for some shopping!

The outside of the museum (day view)

The outside of the museum (day view)

The outside of the museum (evening view)

The outside of the museum (evening view)

Intentional design??

Intentional design??

Our loots from the fake goods market

Our loots from the fake goods market

We also visited Tian Zi Fang, a place that has loads of traditional souvenirs and quirky stuff. There are also many good restaurants and pubs there.

Tian zi fang

Tian zi fang

Mum insisted I take this photo coz I'm also a cow (my zodiac)

Mum insisted I take this photo coz I’m also a cow (my zodiac)

Inside TZF

Inside TZF

Shanghai architecture

Shanghai architecture

Ate non-stop. The cheesecake on the right was the bakery's best-seller, and it was really good!

Ate non-stop. The cheesecake on the right was the bakery’s best-seller, and it was really good!

I brought my office laptop over so that I could connect to Facebook and Gmail through my office’s VPN server. Otherwise, you cannot usually go to these sites using China’s internet server.

Fwah! Huge monitor! :D

Fwah! Huge monitor! 😀

The seats on the Shanghai subway are flat (unlike SG's where they marked out each individual space), and my sis asked me to sit in between her and mum.  Thanks jie, but I don't think my butt can fit in there.

The seats on the Shanghai subway are flat benches (unlike SG’s where they marked out each individual space), and my sis asked me to sit in between her and mum.
Thanks jie, but I don’t think my butt can fit in there.

Seriously, there isn’t much to do in urban city Shanghai, except to eat and shop. And we Tan girls are also not adventurous, so we stuck to what we knew the best: shop and eat.

Mum & me

Mum & me

eh, why mum smile so happy here!?

eh, why mum smile so happy here!?

lunch at a thai restaurant in kerry park

lunch at a thai restaurant in kerry park

spring roll appetizer

spring roll appetizer

prawn cakes

prawn cakes

minced chicken with basil. man, this was spicy fiery hot

minced chicken with basil. man, this was spicy fiery hot

veges!

veges!

pineapple fried rice

pineapple fried rice

cute vintage bike

cute vintage bike

at night, we went to 人民广场 and i really like the clash of old and new shanghai buildings!

in the middle of 人民广场

in the middle of 人民广场

hazy night, so can't see the pearl of the orient

hazy night, so can’t see the pearl of the orient

an old building

an old building

my shop!!

my shop!!

Fresh ginger, pear and carrot juice. I doubt there's carrot though...

Fresh ginger, pear and carrot juice. I doubt there’s carrot though…

poutine fries

poutine fries

buffalo wings

buffalo wings

grilled salmon

grilled salmon

fish & chips

fish & chips

surf & turf

surf & turf

steak

steak

Leave a Reply

