Food Review: Hatched

2013-06-08 12.07.37

The boy brought me out to brunch at Hatched on Saturday morning. I’ve heard about Hatched for a long time, but its first outlet at Evans Road is just too far for me to go for some eggs. Luckily they now have a place nearer to (our) homes at Holland Village.

I must have been iron-deficient the past week coz I keep dreaming about steak and duck! Dishes like the Cowboy burger, French onion sandwich and the Shepherd’s pie called out to me. But it would be blasphemy if I order meat dishes at Hatched, a place well-known for its egg dishes right? And in any case, the above 3 dishes should be quite huge and I don’t have a huge appetite.

2013-06-08 11.14.24

Philly, $15
Omelette filled with strips of steak, peppers and onions, topped with cream cheese

So I ordered the Philly instead. Omelette with steak strips, bell peppers and caramelized onions. The omelette was ok but I thought it didn’t go well with the steak and onions. It felt… disconnected? And the omelette was served on top of a slice of (soggy and chewy) toast. I think the toast should go. Or at least, serve it on the side.

2013-06-08 11.13.44

Smoked Royale, $19.
English muffin, topped with smoked salmon, poached egg(s), Hollandaise sauce and homemade mash.

The boy had Smoked Royale. Mouth-watering plate of salty delish. The smoked salmon had a wonderful smokey flavour and saltiness to it, which made pairing with the liquid yolk eggs and tangy Hollandaise sauce perfect. Oh, and the mash. It’s the brown lump on the top left corner of the plate, but don’t turn up your nose just yet. The brown sauce is actually chunky mushroom sauce! I’m assuming it’s homemade as well because there’s no way it’s available commercially! It’s thatttttt good.

2013-06-08 11.49.23

Flat white, $5.
Expensive cup of caffeine!

I couldn’t do without my daily dose of caffeine, so I ordered a flat white after we were done with our meals (I actually wanted to drink my coffee elsewhere, but couldn’t wait). Coffee was just so-so, making the $5 price tag seem exorbitant! But I did like the shape of the cup. It’s like a rounded triangle, so the corner fits perfectly into your mouth, without having the milk mustache form on your upper lip.

Leave a Reply

