Food Review: Grub

Grub serves up non-grubby food

Grub serves up non-grubby food

Possibly one of my current favourite makan places , Grub is operated by the cousin of Beverly and is long anticipated by many. Promising to deliver wholesome good food, Grub serves up food that are far from being grubby. The location of Grub was less than ideal, being right smack in the middle of Bishan Park (which is extremely far from where I work or live), but it offers a different dining experience.

Grub from far

Grub from far

Gorgeous scenery

Gorgeous scenery

My first visit was brunch on a Saturday morning when they had just opened their doors for about a week or so. Service was slow then, but I’m glad to say that it has definitely picked up speed since then. I went there for the mussels but sadly, they were not available then so I settled for the beef guinness pie. The boy had the fish burger.

Is this a fish burger, or fish & chips?

Is this a fish burger, or fish & chips? $12

I loved the chips and the fresh crispy fish, and oh the remoulade sauce. VERY more-ish. I think I might have polished off the entire mug of chips and sauce while waiting for my beef pie.

Beef guinness pie

Beef guinness pie $12

I was mad starving when my order finally arrived (almost 40 mins wait) and while the pastry and mash were good, I was let down by the beef. Somehow I might have gotten the end of the stick, as my beef chunks were tough and sinewy. The pastry was very buttery and went well with the gravy though. Loved the baby carrots and pearl onions. Many have commented that their pies were good so I’m going to write it off as a one-time event. Might have to go back for brunch and try it again!

Belgium waffles, with strawberry and ricotta cheese

Belgium waffles, with strawberry and ricotta cheese, $8 I think

Feeling disappointed with my main, I decided to order a dessert to lift up my spirits. The belgium waffle with strawberry and ricotta cheese (no longer available on the menu since the revamp, but the banana and chocolate version is still available) was fresh and crispy. It went down really well with us, especially with the extra maple syrup we requested.

Though I didn’t enjoy my meal thoroughly, I think there’s still potential in Grub, and would def be returning, again and again!

Leave a Reply

