Alaska 2013 – Part 1

So finally, I’ve gotten around to writing up my travelogue for Alaska. To be honest, Alaska was never on my “to-travel” list. It was on HIS list. Somehow, before we got together, when we were still platonic friends, I decided that I will join him on his travel plan coz I wanted to travel and I didn’t have a travelling buddy.

So anyway, the dates were set from 6 March to 18 March, 2 places (Alaska & Korea). We chose to fly on Korean Air as they offered the best rates, and we got a stopover on our way back as well. Flying from Singapore to Seoul took around 7 hours (KE642, ETD 0110, ETD 0825), and our next flight from Seoul to Seattle wasn’t till 10 hours later (KE019, ETD 1815, ETA 1225). So after our red-eye flight, we deposited our backpacks at the airport luggage deposit, and headed to MyeongDong for some noms and walking around.

You make me so happy. ❤ Ok, I lied. I was so happy coz my skin looks pretty good. =P

I was supposed to plan the Korean itinerary, so I googled around and found out that we could take the AREX from the airport to Seoul station, then transfer to MyeongDong. You will need a T-money (similar to our EZ link, but way cuter) to travel on public transportation in Seoul.

On board AREX

On board AREX

Since it was nearing lunch by the time we reached MyeongDong, I decided that food was in order. We headed to MyeongDong Gyoja, as recommended by the KTO.

MyeongDong gyoja

MyeongDong gyoja

We went for their specialities, Kalguksu (handcut noodles) and gyoja (meat dumplings). Both dishes were 8000 won each, and super yummy. The kalguksu was very appetizing together with the kimchi. Each gyoja was huge and meaty, like an XL xiao long bao.

Kalguksu

Kalguksu

Gyoja

Gyoja

Coffee for the girl, hot chocolate for the boy. And they spent some time people watching.

His & her coffees

His & her coffees

Enjoying the cool weather

Enjoying the cool weather

Lots of signboards all over Korea and look what we found?

See something familiar?

See something familiar?

Kpop fans flock to this store because it’s jointly owned by SM entertainment, the managing company of f(x), Super Junior etc. The first 3 levels are retailing clothes, similar to Uniqlo, Giordano and the 4th level sells SM artistes’ merchandize. I think there’s also a restaurant on the top level, but I didn’t check it out. I didn’t find anything that caught my eye, so I went off to Uniqlo and scored a 5000 won scarf.

Mandatory visit

Mandatory visit

Next up, USA!

Leave a Reply

