Food Review: Itacho Sushi

Itacho Sushi is a new player in the Japanese food scene in Singapore (by new, I’m comparing them to the likes of Sakae Sushi and Sushi Tei, long time players here), but it has been gaining popularity steadily. I’ve been to Itacho twice now, first time being a farewell treat from my ex-manager. That visit, I had the famous salmon with soy sauce (only $0.40 per piece!), crab chawanmushi and some other sushi. I thought it was just so-so.

Last weekend, I visited the same outlet again (Star Vista) as the boy wanted to try. Since I’ve had lunch prior to meeting him, we only ordered a salmon sashimi, smoked salmon sushi and a teriyaki chicken don. The food was alright, but the salmon sashimi was expensive IMO, only think it was $3.50 for 3 slices. Granted, they were fresh but they were not really high quality.

Food aside, I was quite surprised to learn that some of the wait staff are from China and do not speak a single word of English. To me, this is absolutely shocking since basic English is absolutely essential in the service line. We ended up having to help translate a request from the Filipino couple sitting next to us. Besides the language issue, I’m also surprised and appalled that Itacho charges for ice water. It’s free if you request for warm water, but you’ll have to pay $1 a cup if you want your water cold. A FREAKING DOLLAR for ice water is just outrageous.

Would I return to Itacho again? Meh… unless the queue is short, and I’m craving Japanese food. Otherwise, I think I’ll take my business elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

