Alaska 2013 – Part 3

Day 3 breakfast: Snow City

Day 3 breakfast: Snow City

Best breakfast in Anchorage

Best breakfast in Anchorage

Since I don’t like to waste calories on yucky food, I took it upon myself to search for good food to nom on. Day 3 breakfast was at Snow City, voted the best breakfast in Anchorage for 9 years and running! But we were kinda late when we arrived, and it was almost lunch, so we had to wait a while for a table.

His crabby omelet, US$14.95

His crabby omelet, US$14.95

Her Ship Creek Benedict, US$12.95

Her Ship Creek Benedict, US$12.95

Her mocha & his OJ

Her mocha & his OJ

Food was stunning. My ship creek benedict was executed perfectly, the salmon cakes were yummy and portion was huge for me. His omelet tasted quite normal though, I don’t remember tasting any crab in it. But it was fluffy and I enjoyed the avocado. 😛 The hashbrowns were not our usual Mac style, they were rustic and more like rosti.

Enjoying the blue skies

Enjoying the blue skies

We explored the town more and visited the Anchorage Museum. We were actually there on day 2, but it was near closing time and we decided to go on day 3 to maximise our time there. Lucky thing we did, because the place was huge! There was an Imaginarium Discovery Centre,  Alaskan history centre, and an Artic flight exhibit among many  other exhibits.

Anchorage museum

Anchorage museum

Pumping bubbles?

Pumping bubbles?

Bubble screen

Bubble screen

Blowing a huge bubble

Blowing a huge bubble

Right at home. NERD. LOL

Right at home. NERD. LOL

Trying to understand the science behind the aurora lights. Too chim for me.

Trying to understand the science behind the aurora lights. Too chim for me.

This, I can understand!

This, I can understand!

Mammoth tooth

Mammoth tooth

How the Alaskan natives used to live

How the Alaskan natives used to live – salmon catching

How the Alaskan natives used to live

How the Alaskan natives used to live – whaling for food

How the Alaskan natives used to live

How the Alaskan natives used to live – stockpiling caribou meat

How the Alaskan natives used to live

How the Alaskan natives used to live – caribou are wild reindeers

Old Eveready battery

Old Eveready battery

After the museum, we went off to the 5th Avenue mall and had some snacks before going back to the hostel to rest. Since we had to leave early morning the next day, we also prepared our luggage. It was only Day 3 of our 18 days trip, and I had already bought quite a fair bit of stuff from the 5th Avenue mall on Day 2. The mall was small, but it had Sephora and Aerie, where I bought a couple of Too Faced kabuki brushes (love the teddy bear hair) for myself and Joyce darling, Benefit blush for my sister, and undies from Aerie, also for myself and Joyce darling. It was quite hard to imagine myself living in Anchorage because there was simply nothing to do!

We were actually quite filled up with the mid-afternoon snack, but I didn’t want to regret not having Alaskan crabs, so I made Mr Goh head out with me to Humpy’s Great Alaskan Alehouse nearby to have a platter of crab legs. Our first trip there saw us walking back to the hostel to get my ID because it was a restaurant AND a pub, so the bouncer insisted to see our IDs before letting us in.

Alaskan red  king crab US$44.99

Alaskan red king crab US$44.99

 

Finally enjoying our crab

Finally enjoying our crab

Him enjoying the crab as well

Him enjoying the crab as well

See how huge the leg meat was!

See how huge the leg meat was!

All done. YUMS

All done. YUMS

Leave a Reply

