Korea 2013 – Part 1

Hehe, I’m finally blogging about Korea almost 5 months after my trip. It wasn’t till almost 18-19 hours later that we arrived in Seoul after leaving Fairbanks. Luckily I got a lot of sleep on board the flight (not that it was comfortable since we were in economy class, but I don’t have a problem sleeping anywhere, anytime.), but Mr Goh was kept awake for most of the 11 hour flight, and so he arrived in Seoul a very grumpy man. And he got pissed at me when I wasn’t quite sure where the lodging for the night was. Super scary when he goes all quiet. I still feel amazed by how similar our characters are. Since I was in charge of planning this leg of the trip, I wanted him to experience something fun and interesting, not like the tours travel agencies would plan. So we stayed in a traditional Korean house, otherwise known as a Hanok, the night we arrived before jetting off to Jeju for 3 days. I chose Doo Guesthouse since it was in Bukchon, where most Hanoks are. Getting there from Incheon airport was convenient – just take bus 6011. Since it was only for one night, and after reading other travelers’ reviews, I decided to go for the semi-double room at 60K won. There wasn’t an ensuite bathroom but it was just next to our room and it didn’t bother us that much.

Traditional Korean house

Traditional Korean house

Small but cozy

Small but cozy

Heated flooring and somewhat comfy 'tatami'

Heated flooring and somewhat comfy ‘tatami’

It was quite interesting to stay in a traditional house and I would definitely recommend it for the experience. However, if you’re traveling with elderly, perhaps just one night? I initially planned for us to bring our luggage over to Banana Backpackers for storage where we will be staying at after we return from Jeju, so we wouldn’t have to carry so many things in Jeju. Banana is just across the road from Doo Guesthouse, however since we were extremely tired from the long haul flight, Mr Goh was somewhat tired and hungry (and we know a hungry man is an angry man), and it was also raining, we decided to just bring all our luggage to Jeju instead.

Gimpo airport departure board

Gimpo airport departure board

Interesting logo... but this is not our plane

Interesting logo… but this is not our plane

This is!

This is!

In bliss despite only having 5 hours of sleep

In bliss despite only having 5 hours of sleep

Finally in Jeju!

Finally in Jeju!

For Jeju, I booked a room at Goodstay Nulsong Parktel as it was highly rated at the KTO website and also on Agoda and Tripadvisor. We got an Image Double room for S$104 for 2 nights. Super cheap and worth it!

Nulsong Parktel

Nulsong Parktel

Entering the room

Entering the room

The big bed, but it was so hard that my hips hurt!

The big bed, but it was so hard that my hips hurt!

Flat screen TV, sanitizer and water cooler in the room

Flat screen TV, sanitizer and water cooler in the room

There was also a working PC!! OMG

There was also a working PC!! OMG

Yay bathtub!

Yay bathtub!

The location when you first arrive (we took a cab from the airport, I think it was less than 10K won) may seem less than stellar, but if you walk out, you’ll realise that it’s only like 2 minutes out to the main road and shopping district! Wah shiok!

Hotel from the outside

Hotel from the outside

We settled on gimbap and gyoza for breakfast. Gim Ka Ne

Just across the road from the end of the alley

Just across the road from the end of the alley

Breakfast for 2

Breakfast for 2

Think these were seafood dumplings

Think these were seafood dumplings

I even managed to tap into some Wifi signal and updated my dad on my whereabouts. After breakfast, we decided to call for a taxi to visit some tourist spots. I used my broken Korean to communicate with the front desk and the taxi uncle, they were so delighted that we can understand their language. Hehe.

Happy now that he's well rested and full

Happy now that he’s well rested and full

We actually only called for a cab to go to the Trick Art Museum and thought we’ll just call another cab when we’re ready to leave but the taxi uncle told us that it would be difficult to get another cab since it’s very out of the way, and offered to be our day guide. We discussed and decided that it’s easier for us and saves time too. So the uncle waited for us while we had fun in the museum. It was super fun!!! DSCN1925DSCN1920 DSCN2004 DSCN2013 DSCN2001 DSCN1987 DSCN1983 DSCN1980 DSCN1978 DSCN1975 DSCN1960 DSCN1959 DSCN1957 DSCN1953 DSCN1954 DSCN1948 DSCN1946 DSCN1940 DSCN1941 DSCN1939 DSCN1937 DSCN1932 DSCN1933 DSCN1927 DSCN1926 DSCN1930 DSCN1924 DSCN1923 DSCN1922 DSCN1921

After the Trick Art Museum, taxi ajusshi brought us to Sunrise Peak. I had previously climbed it on my tour to Korea and it was super duper tiring (my fitness level is like an old lady), so this time I told Mr Goh to go ahead without me and I’ll see him somewhere along the way. LOL

Sunrise Peak

Sunrise Peak

Looks daunting to me

Looks daunting to me

DSCN2031

Up we go!

Up we go!

At the first 'checkpoint'

At the first ‘checkpoint’

Highest point

Highest point

Looking down from the top

Looking down from the top

Somewhere near the top, but not the top

Somewhere near the top, but not the top

I didn’t make it all the way up as it was very steep and slippery going down and I wasn’t sure if my shoes are going to hold up. Anyway, I’ve been up there before, so I couldn’t be arsed to climb up again. 😛 After resting for a while, bought some Jeju chocolates and cuttlefish snack, we decided it was late and we should go back. Ajusshi passed by a canola field and stopped to let us take photos. The field was managed by a couple of ajummas and we had to pay “entrance fees” of 1K won per person. Ok la… only S$1.20 or so.

In a canola field

In a canola field

Super windy

Super windy

My new Korean boyfriend

My new Korean boyfriend

Ajusshi also brought us to this spot for more photo-taking. Sorry, not quite sure where…

DSCN2058 DSCN2074

The beautiful sunset

The beautiful sunset

Leave a Reply

