Pasarbella

One of the many entrances... I think this is the south entrance

One of the many entrances… I think this is the south entrance

Pasarbella has been opened for quite some time now, but I only went there recently because getting there is SUCH a hassle. Well, I could take the bus and walk in, but it’s a super duper far walk. No way. The management really ought to provide more shuttle services. There are quite a number of interesting stalls there, but when you say farmers’ market, I expected a lot more fresh produce. Instead there were many ‘vintage’ stalls and stalls selling cakes and pastries.

One of the stalls that caught my eye was Le Patio, because they offer paella! I didn’t have it on my first visit since it was just after lunch, but I vowed to try it when I return for a second visit and yes I did! Sadly, I didn’t think much about it. Not very flavourful.

Huge pan of paella

Huge pan of paella

Seafood paella, $13.50

Seafood paella, $13.50

Another stall that caught my attention was Ocean of Seafood. I mean, how could I resist fresh salmon, mussels, lobsters?! You can choose to either buy the seafood home or have it cooked on the spot (for a fee) and enjoy it fresh.

Fresh fish on sale

Fresh fish on sale

Lobstah~~~

Lobstah~~~

 

Salmon sashimi... OMG

Salmon sashimi… OMG

Oysters waiting to be shucked

Oysters waiting to be shucked

I think I’ll try Nibbles by Rabbit Carrot Gun next time. Just the name alone sounds super cute. It’s a stall operated by an Australian, selling pies and cakes.

Pies on display

Pies on display

More pies

More pies

To be honest, I think the hype about Pasarbella being a farmers’ market is disappointing. Nevertheless, there’s always a saving grace… and for me, that is I finally got my first taste of a Crodo! Salted Caramel at that! Mmmm… just the thought of the Crodo makes me salivate. If only it isn’t deep fried, and doesn’t cost $4.90, I can have it every week!

Come to mama

Come to mama

Leave a Reply

