Korea 2013 – Part 2

Ooh la la. I’m finally writing about Day 2 in Korea… is anyone still interested to read about my Korea trip? Don’t care… I’ll still write it. 😛

Since our trip is supposed to be very relaxed, we woke up around 9am and I sent Mr Goh to the restaurant opposite the hotel to buy breakfast back. He got really yummy food back: abalone porridge and cold noodles. I especially liked the cold noodles, a little sourish and savory at the same time.

Korean abalone porridge

Korean abalone porridge

Korean cold noodles

Korean cold noodles

Then we got the reception to help us call a taxi, thinking that we will do the same arrangement as the previous day, but the reception offered us an even better idea: 80,000 won from noon to 5pm, with an English speaking taxi driver cum guide. We told him where are the places we wanted to visit and he planned the route for us.

So first stop was Mini World. I think Koreans are fascinated by such sights, there is another theme park with similar displays. The park was fun, with me telling Mr Goh “oh I wanna go there for my next trip” at almost every sight I see. And while the iconic displays of the world were shrunk down to mini size, the Yakult bottle was upsized. Very cute.

Entrance of Mini World

Entrance of Mini World

Trying to act like Hitler

Trying to act like Hitler

Some palace

Some palace

Huge Yakult bottle.

Huge Yakult bottle.

I wanna see the real thing!

I wanna see the real thing!

Russia

Moscow Kremlin

Eygpt

Eygpt

Restaurant outside Mini World. Even the restaurant's facade was interesting!

Restaurant outside Mini World. Even the restaurant’s facade was interesting!

We then went off to the Chocolate Museum. Not quite what we expected as it was very quiet and there wasn’t much activity going on. But it was interesting to see how chocolate has evolved and spread over the world. There were also some interesting facts! Something strange was that a free drink was included in the entry fee, and the guy asked us what drink would we like. However when we asked what do they have, he answered “only black coffee”. Not sure why he asked us though, and I thought they should include chocolate drinks as well, since it is a chocolate museum after all.

The Chocolate Museum

The Chocolate Museum

Chocolate train?

Chocolate train?

How the Mayans discovered chocolate

How the Mayans made chocolate

Chocolate history

Chocolate history

Can Mr Bear offer you anything?

Can Mr Bear offer you anything?

Trays of handmade pralines

Trays of handmade pralines

More pralines

More pralines

This should be my wallpaper on my phone and laptop. Constant reminder

This should be my wallpaper on my phone and laptop. Constant reminder

Having browsed through the museum at our own pace, and bought a box of pralines (just because it felt right to try their chocolate), we proceeded to the Spirited Garden, which is actually a bonsai garden. *cue non-stop yawning* Mr Goh and I had a great laugh about visiting this place because we both do not know how to appreciate bonsai and that place is huge. So since we have already paid to enter, we forced ourselves to walk through and pretend to appreciate the green plants.

Spirited Garden

Spirited Garden

Bonsai 1

Bonsai 1

Not a bonsai plant, but a pretty cherry blossom tree

Not a bonsai plant, but a pretty cherry blossom tree

Our last stop before returning to the hotel was the Jeju Mysterious Road and another theme park that has an ice sculpture area, and also optical illusions. Though we had just visited the Trick Art museum the day before, we still enjoyed this museum thoroughly. There were some very funny ‘pictures’!

Even Merlion is here!

Even Merlion is here!

Not a bed of roses, but a bed of ice

Not a bed of roses, but a bed of ice

去死吧! *cues inner evil self*

去死吧! *cues inner evil self*

Always picking up money

Always picking up money

Is that my anniversary present, love?

Is that my anniversary present, love?

Hey, come back with my wallet!!

Hey, come back with my wallet!!

You! Stop talking in class!

You! Pay attention!

A+B = C

A+B = C

Hiak hiak hiak

Hiak hiak hiak

We ended the day by treating ourselves to a meal of BBQ-ed black pork and soju. The plate of salad on the left was super delicious, might have reordered it twice! However, I enjoyed the beef better though… the pork was too tough for my liking, and I only managed one shot of soju before I called it quits. Mr Goh doesn’t like to waste, so he forced himself to finish half a bottle of soju… and we both tumbled into bed that night, without taking a shower. =X So, we’ve decided there will not be alcohol at our wedding dinner! Pls BYO. HAHAHAHAHA.

Yummy Korean BBQ

Yummy Korean BBQ

Leave a Reply

