Merry Christmas 2013

It is a half working day on Christmas eve, so I made use of my family care leave (which cannot be carried forward to the next year) and took the other half day off. Feels so good to be sleeping in and only waking up at 8am. Oops. Somehow my body clock has tuned to waking up at 8am, 9am latest, even on weekends. Just as well, since I made plans to have breakfast with the BFF and her husband, hereby known as JAL.

Fishball kuay teow mee, only $2.50!

Fishball kuay teow mee, only $2.50!

We gossiped chatted over breakfast and firmed up dinner plans for the 30th. I think our monthly dinner plans started after BFF got married. Better meet up regularly before we all lose touch due to kids and/or other life commitments. BFF & JAL had to go for their hair appointment before caroling, so I moved off to my next errand: clothes alteration. It costs me $42 to get 2 tops and 1 dress altered. But then again, the value of those clothing is ard $300… so better to spend the money to alter them than to dispose the clothes.

It’s actually quite shiok to be shopping that early in town (about 12 noon) coz there is less crowd. But then, I have zero resistance to temptation. I spent close to $150 on Uniqlo, Sephora and Crabtree & Evelyn. 😛

Oh oh! Highlight of my Christmas eve was the picnic I had with Mr Goh!! Yeah. PICNIC. Last night, I decided I wanted to do a picnic so we decided to go Fort Canning since Mr Goh would be in the area for his company event. Actually, my real reason to have a picnic was because I had that picnic mat from Sentosa for almost 3 years now and I’ve only used it once. So I wanted to make full use of my $15 and maximise usage. REAL REASON, NO JOKE.

Luckily the weather was cool enough.

Am I blushing because of this?

Am I blushing because of this?

Prepared sandwiches and desserts. Bought drinks on the way

Prepared sandwiches and desserts. Bought drinks on the way

Stretching our legs out and enjoying the green

Stretching our legs out and enjoying the green

Looking around, you wouldn't believe that the main road is just 2 mins walk out.

Looking around, you wouldn’t believe that the main road is just 2 mins walk out.

Close your eyes and enjoy the breeze

Lie back, close your eyes and enjoy the breeze

It felt quite nice to be having a picnic there coz we were the only ones doing that (until we were about to leave, then another couple joined us in doing the silly). Sitting on the grass (we tried the concrete pavillion – butt hurts), listening to Christmas songs on Youtube (I borrowed the X-mini from office) and munching on snacks. I certainly don’t mind doing this again!

And those who follow me on Instagram would have seen the below picture already. Yes, we caught an early  movie on Christmas morning. 47 Ronin was nice! Didn’t think I’d like it but I did! You’d think that the cinema would be deserted that early, but surprisingly, there were at least another 20 odd people watching with us too.

Movie on Christmas morning

Movie on Christmas morning

Leave a Reply

