Food Review: Tim Ho Wan

About a week ago, I suddenly had a craving for dim sum and so called up my buddy for a double date with our ah laos. Our initial plan was to go Yum Cha at Chinatown but they didn’t allow reservations and I reckon the queue would be horribly long because we can’t wake up early enough to go get a table. So we decided to go Tim Ho Wan since there’s an outlet at Westgate and they open at 9am. That, I can wake up early enough.

So we met up at 930am and I was surprised that at that 鸟不生蛋 time, the place was about 80% filled up with a few other groups waiting in line (because they were still waiting for other friends to arrive). Luckily for us, because just a short while after we were seated, the entire place was packed!

IMG_5812 The baked charsiew buns ($4.50 for 3 pieces) were warm hot when they arrived at our table, a sign of it being freshly baked. The bao skin was delightfully soft and sweet, and the filling was sweet and savory at the same time. It was like my favorite polo charsiew bun from Crystal Jade Bread, only slightly better.

IMG_5813 We ordered 2 bowls of porridge with lean pork, century egg and salted egg ($4.20 per bowl) to share among us. The portion looked small but was more than enough, especially when there were other things to eat! The porridge was silky smooth, with nary a rice grain in sight. ZH doesn’t eat century egg, so it was all for me! The salted egg white was chopped up and the egg yolk must have been “dissolved” in the porridge because the entire bowl of porridge tasted like salted egg yolk. Not that I’m complaining! I likeeeeee~~~

IMG_5814 Siew mai ($5 for 4 pieces) is a must for any dim sum meal! While I couldn’t find fault with THW’s siew mai, I also didn’t think that it was spectacular.

IMG_5815 Compared to siew mai, I much prefer har gow ($5.50 for 4 pieces), and THW does a pretty good har gow. Thin skin, crunchy prawns. But still, this ain’t the best I’ve had. I didn’t think that the prawns here were juicy enough.

IMG_5816 CORIANDER ALERT: We ordered the rice roll with charsiew ($5.50 for 1 plate) and I ate one mouthful of it, without knowing that THW uses coriander in the charsiew mix. It was touch and go for me.

IMG_5817 Pan fried carrot cake ($4.50 for 3 pieces) is also one of my favourite dim sum items to order. Again, I think I’ve had better elsewhere. I thought the texture was a little too mushy – couldn’t taste the radish pieces.

IMG_5818 Rice roll with prawn filling ($5.50 for 1 plate). Since I passed over the charsiew one, my dear friends gladly gave me more of this instead. The prawns were fresh and crunchy, the sauce tasting just right. But the thickness of the rice roll wasn’t thin enough for it to be classified as splendid.

IMG_5819 CORIANDER ALERT: Again another one with coriander. But my dear BFF loves this, so she ate most of it.

I’ve heard lots of good things about THW, so I had high hopes for the food there. I think out of the 8 dishes we ordered, I only enjoyed the baked charsiew bun the best. Would I go there again? Maybe not. But I wouldn’t mind a takeaway of the baked charsiew bun!

Leave a Reply

