Has Grub lost its charm on us?

ZH and myself decided to try New Ubin Seafood one day after my facial at Upper Thomson and I decided to ask Papa along, since I was feeling guilty for not accompanying him the day before. But unfortunately, NUS was packed at 630pm and they turned us away because we didn’t have a reservation. Not wanting to just go anywhere else (since we have already utilized an hour’s parking coupon), it was decided to go Grub as it was just a 3 min drive away.

We were lucky at Grub because we snagged the last indoor table (my dad insisted on having an indoor table. LOL), and the queue was at least 30-40 mins wait after us. Dad decided to have the steak and fries ($19), ZH had the pork belly ($17) while I tried the new limited edition chili crab burger ($18).

IMG_5834 The steak and fries portion was big but Papa commented that some parts of the steak were a little chewy and tough. When he was about to finish his meal, he asked why have we not visited Angus in a long while. Ok, I get your hint dad!

IMG_5835 It’s been 3 months since we last visited Grub. ZH thought he was being safe and stuck to our old favorite – the pork belly. But unfortunately, Grub seemed to have renewed the dish. The pork belly is now being sous vided and seared, served with sauteed leeks and mashed sweet potato. I think the dish is less enjoyable as we could taste more of the fats (previously made crispy and less obvious that we were eating fats). The mash sweet potato was also quite rich on the palate.

IMG_5836 IMG_5838 I took a gamble and tried the new offering and luckily it paid off. The crab patty was thick and full of crab meat. The chili crab sauce was also quite spot on, being a little sweet and tangy at the same time. The entire burger was quite thick and I couldn’t get it to fit into my mouth, so I ate the burger with the help of a fork and a knife. Weird.

I’m pretty upset that Grub has revamped its menu several times now and each time, they take away/change something that used to be a crowdpleaser. For example, the mussels, the salmon fillet, and now the slow roasted pork belly. Oh and by the way, if Grub management is reading this, please change the name of your Honey Lime juice drink to Honey Lemon!! Twice I ordered, and it was Lemon in it. Lime & lemon has a distinct difference in taste and outlook!

Leave a Reply

