Recipe: Couscous salad with tons of veg!

Earlier this week, I found out that my jeans are a little extremely snug around my hips and thighs. While I don’t usually pay much attention to my weight, alarm bells will start to ring when my clothes don’t fit. It’s either due to PMS bloating or “you’ve been eating too much”. So I decided to go on a healthy diet with lots of vegetables and protein, easy on the carbs. After all, I’m already trying to live healthy by attending exercise classes twice a week (the last time I exercised this frequently was probably when I was in secondary school). I tried to get some recipe inspiration from SkinnyTaste and prepare my own meals.

I left work slightly earlier yesterday and headed to the supermarket on the way home. I bought enough to make me probably 8 meals. For starters, I made a couscous salad with cucumber, tomato and tuna. The following amount of ingredients serves 3.

  • 1/2 cup of dried couscous, cooked with hot boiling water (~$0.60)
  • 1/2 medium cucumber, diced ($0.58)
  • 1/2 yellow bell pepper, diced ($0.58)
  • 100g cherry tomatoes, quartered ($0.60)
  • 1 can Ayam brand tuna mayo (lite) ($2.45)

I prepared the vegetables while the couscous is cooking/absorbing the water/fluffing up and just mixed everything together. Add a little black pepper and herbs (optional) and you’re done! If not serving all immediately, you may refrigerate the balance – it’s even better when the salad is given time to meld its flavors together!

IMG_5885

Leave a Reply

