Recipe: Tuna & Veggie patties

Canned tuna is easily one of my favorite protein – affordable and easy to purchase. I often think of ways to use tuna – tuna salad, tuna mayo, tuna with couscous, tuna anything. This afternoon, I suddenly had a craving for tuna again, but yet I wanted to use up the lone cucumber and some bell peppers I bought last week. So what do I do? Put them together and make tuna patties, of course!

The following amount of ingredients makes approximately 7 1.5″diameter patties.

  • 1 can tuna in brine
  • 1/2 cup shredded cucumber, squeezed dry
  • 1/4 red bell pepper, chopped finely
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn kernels
  • 1/8 cup nutritional yeast (optional)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ground black pepper

I mixed everything together and pan fried the patties over medium-high heat, 2-3 mins each side. My patties were a little soft because I didn’t chill the mixture before pan frying. If you have the time, it would be better if you could shape the patties and chill them first.

IMG_5934

I love that this recipe is so versatile – you can switch up the veggies to your liking, add spices and seasonings (curry powder would taste good!), and the cooked patties can be eaten hot or cold!

Leave a Reply

