What I ate in Germany Part 2

Let’s carry on to take a look at what have I been consuming in Bremen, shall we? / Right, it’s not as if these people are very interested to know… but anyhoo!

Day 6

Another attempt at having a more luxurious and well-balanced breakfast. The toast doesn’t look very toasted because I put it in the oven and the heating element was too far to turn it a nice golden brown.

IMG_6418

Lunch AND dinner were the same thing, just that for lunch, I cooked for one person only to try out the golden ratio of rice to water. It was my first time cooking rice in a pot over the stove and I sorely missed the convenience of a rice cooker.

I used the leftover curry gravy to cook some diced chicken breast and cabbage. I used this cooking aid to make chicken rice. I first discovered it while studying in Perth, and this discovery has led to many more satisfying student dinners back then. I’m pretty sure it will continue to make me many more.
IMG_6434

Day 7

On this day, we were scheduled to take an evening train to Berlin via Hamburg, so I didn’t go to the supermarket to top up groceries, but rather tried to use up whatever was left in the fridge. So it was a japalang lunch of spaghetti with cream of mushroom sauce (actually soup, but I used less water), mixed veggies, the lone bockwurst, and some chicken breast.
IMG_6436

For dinner, it was a quick one at the sausage stand at the Hauptbahnhof. I got greedy and also requested for a small fries €1.60… which turned out to be like a large portion for me. They were also especially generous with their mayonnaise (additional €0.20 for sauce).
IMG_6439

Day 8

We skipped the official dinner the previous night and we were starving by the morning. It was a wet morning (downpour actually!) and we were due to meet our German friend at the U-bahn station nearby, so we grabbed a turkey breast bread roll at the store there. Sorry, too hungry so we wolfed it down. No pictures of that.

We settled lunch at the Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin because I requested for a traditional German meal after visiting the museum. So both our German friend and I had the schnitzel while ZH had the currywurst. We also ordered Apfelsaftschorle for drinks. Schnitzel was salty but I thought it was just me not used to German food so I kept quiet, until our German friend voiced out. Haha, glad to know that I’m not alone. Or maybe our German friend has gotten used to Singaporean food (his girlfriend is Singaporean and a friend of ZH’s).
IMG_6463 IMG_6464

For dinner, we had our private chef cook up a meal of tomato cream pasta with mince beef. Simple but very tummy warming! It’s quite good that I think I might have to recreate it soon!
IMG_6478

Day 9

After checking out from our hotel in the morning, we headed to a cafe just opposite the U-bahn for breakfast before meeting our tour guide. Despite the language barrier, we still managed to order a breakfast set €4.80 to share. It was a typical European breakfast with fruit and cheese, with a boiled egg and crusty bread rolls. The bread was so good with the jam and butter! The set also came with a cup of coffee which was really smooth and fragrant.
IMG_6482

We each bought a pastry at the train station for a quick nom on the train back to Bremen but they were not good at all. So bad that I struggled to finish my pastry and ended up throwing it away 2 days later.

It was still pretty early when we reached “home”, so I cooked up some spaghetti for dinner. The supermarkets don’t operate on Sunday, so it was a “I’m still clearing the pantry” meal. Spaghetti with frozen vegetables and ham with tomato sauce, with a couple of lettuce leaves.
IMG_6503

One thing I realised via this Germany trip is that I really really dislike frozen peas and mixed vegetables. I can take frozen corn, frozen carrots, but when they all come together with frozen peas, it’s like “ewww. Get them away from me”.

Day 10

Nothing much to eat so I went to the supermarket in the morning and got us some mushrooms and meat. For lunch, I continued to clear the fridge. I’m seriously surprised by how much a 200g packet of ham, 500g of spaghetti and 250g of veggies can last us!

IMG_6507

I had cravings for beef, so I made us steak with sides of mashed potatoes and onions and mushrooms. The steaks were wonderfully pink in the centre (pan fried each side for 3 mins), but I may choose a different cut in future. I think this was rump and I thought it was a little bit tough. Or maybe I should have tenderized it a little before cooking. The onion and mushrooms were so gorgeous, I should have made more, and it was so easy to cook.

Simply saute the onions in the unwashed pan after frying the steak so that it sorta deglazes the pan and cooks the onions with the steak juices. Add in sliced mushrooms after the onions have softened and also some salt and pepper to taste.
IMG_6509

Day 11

I was at IKEA in the morning, bought myself a pair of “EXTRA SHORT” jeans from the mall next to IKEA and then returned home for lunch. Leftover mashed potatoes, a couple of slices of ham and a sunny side up. Man, I’m getting good at frying sunny side ups! And making up japalang meals for myself using leftovers.

IMG_6519

But I remember I made beef stroganoff with mushrooms for dinner. It was super yummy. *Sad face that I couldn’t find the photo* Or maybe I was too hungry to remember to take photos. That situation occurs quite frequently.

Do you have that problem too? It’s like “ok, I must remember to take photo of this meal since it sounds so yummy” Then the next minute the food arrives and *ATTACK!!!!*. Mid-way through the meal, then “alamak, forgot to take photo again”. -_-”

Day 12

I ate like a pig today. Probably because I know I was returning home soon and that I need to live it up in Bremen! LOL… so I ate non-stop with nary a care about weight.

I settled for an early lunch at Nordsee to avoid the crowd (Crowd? What crowd? This is Bremen, not Orchard Road or Raffles Place!) and with sign language and simple English, I managed to order myself this Fish Fillet Champignon. Oh, and a nice hibiscus tea as well. I miss fish. And seafood. Despite the city being near the sea, I cannot find any fresh prawns or squid in the supermarkets! Only frozen ones…

IMG_6532

I finally caved in to my craving and got myself soy yogurt. This milk protein allergy has got me quite frustrated at times because I do love my dairy products and it’s not easy trying to avoid it at all. But luckily, Alpro has got some lovely products! I tried making my own soy yogurt before back when I was crazy over making homemade yogurt with my Severin yogurt maker, but it was just horrible! I wonder what went wrong.

Anyway, it was just €1.99 for 4 tubs of delicious soy yogurt. Why don’t we have this in Singapore?!?!

IMG_6534

Our 2nd dating anniversary coincided with the trip, so I requested for a dinner at a restaurant. I can’t believe that ZH forgot about it, so did he. *Throws hands up in the air* But anyway, we aren’t the type to make a big hoo-ha out of special occasions, and so I wasn’t too bothered about the fact that he forgot. I did have a lot of fun teasing him about it though.

We visited Loui & Jules, a restaurant that was situated near the city, next to the river. I came across this restaurant when I was searching for “what to eat in Bremen” and read its review on an English blog. The restaurant only had German menus, but my German was good enough to guess what was what. LOL.

The restaurant served us complimentary bread (oh, have I mentioned how much I love bread? Germany is made for me!), and we had cute little frying pans to contain the olive oil dip for the bread. Loui & Jules produces their own range of olive oils and BBQ sauce which were absolutely stunning. There were 3 types of olive oils: natural, lemon, and red pepper which had just the slightest tinge of heat. We were pretty tempted to buy a bottle of the lemon olive oil home (Singapore), but decided against it because we know we will be back soon!
IMG_6543

Being small eaters, we skipped the appetizers and went straight for the mains. I had a pulled pork burger which was quite salty, but that’s German cuisine for me – almost everything is quite salty to me. Other than that, I absolutely loved the cool creamy coleslaw. The beef patty was a little dry though.
IMG_6546

ZH ordered a rumpsteak (150g). Looked tiny on the giant plate but was the perfect serving size since we also ordered a truffle fries and Mediterranean vegetables to share. The entire meal set us back by around €40, including drinks. I’d love to return in summer, just to enjoy a light meal by the river. That would be lovely, me thinks!
IMG_6548 IMG_6551

Day 13

Alright! We had a feast the night before and we are back to our regular schedule of cheap, easy meals. Does this look like Chinese noodle soup? Hee hee! It is actually spaghetti soup. We had the same soup with rice for dinner. I need to increase my repertoire of recipes if I’m going to be a full-time housewife!

IMG_6557

Day 14

On the final stretch of the journey, really really clearing the fridge for sure now!

Remember the bratokoffeln I mentioned in my previous post? Yeap, it was still sitting in the fridge, until the very last day! So, I just made myself a simple breakfast of that, an egg, ham and a tomato. Blergh, the potatoes were dry and horrid. I’m pretty sure it’s not meant to be that way. Perhaps it was just not nice frozen.
IMG_6559

I got us some nice cocktail prawn salad the day night and so I had it over lettuce and tomato (sorta like a salad dressing), together with some chicken patties. Note to myself: 100% chicken patties are bone dry. Do not make these again.
IMG_6561
That day was also the opening day for Freimarkt, the world’s oldest fun fair, so we headed down to the city centre at around 4pm to join in the festivities. Got ourselves some fruit wine, some expensive and delightfully salty ham (super nice!!) and met up with the rest of the guys for the first time. We also shared a bowl of champignons €4. I love mushrooms!
IMG_6576 IMG_6580 IMG_6584

Day 15

Ok, our real final DAY in Bremen because we are going to fly home at 6pm!!! The hotel we were staying at were fully booked and so no chance for late checkout. But I think they probably will charge us for late checkout even if they were not full.

We just finished up the perishables (like the half tub of cocktail prawn salad, 4 slices of bread, 4 slices of ham, and the half bottle of Apfelsaftschorle) before checking out, storing our luggages in the hotel’s office and heading out to one of the apartments that the company rented for the Batch 1. We had pantry items to pass to the guys, such as cooking oil, paper towels and onions. LOL.

For lunch, ZH and I headed back to Freimarkt and gorged on more food. I so love the mushrooms from the previous night and got them again.
IMG_6610

I also caved in to my cravings and thought “what the heck, just eat it”. I ordered us a fried camembert with cranberry sauce.IMG_6615

Labskaus has been on ZH’s mind all the time, so despite its ugly outlook, we gave it a try and were glad that we did. It was fantastic! I loved the vinegary tang of the pickled beetroot with the salty beef.
IMG_6617

To end the feast, it was Baileys and Nutella poffertjes!
IMG_6619

 

Leave a Reply

