The stories behind our wedding bands

Right from the start, I knew that I wanted a ring design which is timeless and classic. Nothing too bling because my engagement ring is already quite flashy. 😛 Initially, I thought an eternity ring would be nice. But as I researched, I found myself falling out of love with the eternity ring. Nothing wrong with it, just that I found something else that I liked better. I really liked the Trinity de Cartier.

TRINITY DE CARTIER

Three bands. Three colours. Pink gold, yellow gold and white gold, intertwined in a display of mystery and harmony. The visionary mind of Louis Cartier created the Trinity ring in 1924. Jean Cocteau promptly made the piece his own. Encircled in the glow of the literary world inhabited by the poet, the ring quickly earned iconic status. Three types of gold. Three symbolic colours: pink for love, yellow for fidelity and white for friendship. Trinity, a timeless design now available in a collection devoted to life’s most memorable loves. Trinity, all about you forever.

Wow. I didn’t know that the ring was created in 1924. But hey, if the design has been popular for almost 100 years, it will probably continue to be timeless and classic for hundreds more. However, the price is a showstopper… man, it’s almost $8000 for the version with the diamond band!

As for the mister, woah. That man has got expensive taste (without him realising it). I still cannot believe that he likes the ring design from Chaumet.

IMG_5202

The “Liens de Chaumet” ring was first created in the 1970s, and has since become the company’s iconic piece, a symbol of attachment and commitment. 

He liked the story behind the ring design: talking about the main ring having a gap and then completed by the bridge across to make it complete. Sorta how I make him complete. HAHAHAHA I totally BS-ed that. Now obviously we wouldn’t be spending close to $3000 on a plain 18K white gold band (doesn’t even have a tiny diamond!!), so I decided we should explore more options before deciding.

After researching high and low, long and hard, I made us an appointment with Ling Jewellery. Initially, I only wanted to bring the designs we had in mind (Trinity de Cartier and Chaumet) to Ling and see if she can design something similar for us. But after talking to her, we decided there’s no harm in trying her own designs. And so we tried on a few, and then she helped us a great deal in the elimination process. After 2 hours, we were done trying as we have decided on our rings. Ling was a gem (pun intended!), being able to grasp what we wanted based on the choices we liked and didn’t like.

Throughout the process of selecting our wedding bands, I decided not to get a matching pair because we have differing tastes in jewelry. Rather than comprising and either one of us would end up not wearing the ring, we decided just choose what we like. After all, this is going to be for life, and I’d want him to be happy with his choice, and vice versa. So yes, we are very very pleased with our choices and only another 2 more months to go! What ring design have we chosen, you ask? Wait for our wedding pictures and you’ll see! 😛

Leave a Reply

