Recipe: Mayonnaise fried rice

I know, it sounds kinda weird! But I promise that it’s really good, If you’re a fan of Japanese mayonnaise, that is. I have always love Kewpie mayo with my food (and my granny loves it to the extent that she sometimes has APPLES with kewpie. Ewwpie!)

I found this recipe from the Kewpie website and modified it a little.

Serves 1

  • 1 bowl of cooked rice
  • 1.5 tablespoons Japanese mayonnaise
  • Ingredients of your choice
  • 1 egg
  • Dash of black pepper

I mixed the rice with 2 swirls of kewpie (approximately 1.5 tablespoon), added in my ingredients (smoked salmon and frozen corn, in this particular instance), and mixed them really well. I then scrambled 1 egg in a heated pan, before adding in the rice mixture into the pan and mixed them again. Add a dash of black pepper and viola! I didn’t add more salt because of the smoked salmon, but depending on your choice of ingredients, you may need to add some soy sauce for flavor.

11063733_950793718304574_8935845739298667257_n

Leave a Reply

