Recipe: otah seafood pasta

IMG_8504

I ‘created’ this dish because I was craving for some spicy otah, but I didn’t want to go through the hassle of cooking a Chinese meal (rice, vegetables, meat, soup). Google is always my best friend when it comes to situations like this, and I freestyled a recipe I found online and added my own twist. I added tofu into the recipe as it makes the sauce creamy and mellows out the spice.

Serves 6

  • 2 packs frozen otah, defrosted (each pack is 180g)
  • 200g squid, skinned and sliced into rings
  • 200g large grey prawns, deshelled
  • 1 pack pasta (of your choice)
  • 2 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 pack soft tofu, drained
  • 1 clove garlic
  • olive oil
  • salt & black pepper
  • laksa leaves for garnish, shredded (optional)

In a large pot, boil water and add salt and some olive oil. Cook pasta as instructed on the pack.

Separately, blend tofu, 1 clove of garlic, and a drizzle of olive oil until smooth.

In a frying pan over low heat, add some olive oil and saute the otah till fragrant. Add 2 teaspoon minced garlic, squid and prawns and cook through. Stir in the blended tofu and heat through. Add salt & pepper to taste.

To serve, plate up the pasta, and add 2 scoops of sauce and seafood. Garnish with laksa leaves if desired. (I didn’t have laksa leaves on hand, so I used spring onion in my picture).

If you like spicy food, seafood, and Asian flavors, be sure to give the recipe a try and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

