Recipe: polenta quiche (or pie)

I remember my first experience with polenta was at Riders’ Cafe – I was having brunch with my ex-colleagues and the dish I ordered had polenta instead of hash. I loved it. It was soft and creamy and reminded me of mashed potatoes. It took me a long while before I researched on it and realized that I can make it at home too. Sadly, not everyone at home shares my love for mushy food (haha!). So one packet of polenta will last quite long.

I drew inspiration from a recipe I saw online, and winged it my way.

IMG_8591

Serves 3

  • 1/2 cup instant polenta
  • 1 3/4 cup stock
  • 1 tablespoon butter (optional)
  • 100g zucchini, sliced and quartered
  • 150g fresh button mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cubes frozen spinach, defrosted and drained of water
  • 3 tablespoons bacon bits
  • 3 eggs
  • herbs of your choice (I used basil and oregano)

In a pot, heat the stock to a boil and whisk in the polenta in a small, steady stream. Stir frequently to prevent lumps in the polenta. Reduce heat and stir till the polenta pulls away from the sides. Remove from heat and stir in the butter. Let cool slightly and pour the polenta into a pie pan or brownie pan. Press the polenta slightly up the sides to form a crust. Bake in the oven at 180 degrees C for about 15-20 minutes.

In a hot frying pan, add in the bacon bits and render the fat out. When bacon is crisp, add in the onions and saute for 3-5 minutes. Add in zucchini, mushrooms and spinach. Add a pinch of salt and cook till the moisture has evaporated. Add herbs, salt & pepper to taste.

Place the vegetable mix into the polenta crust. Beat eggs and pour over the vegetables. Bake in the oven for approximately 15 minutes, or until the egg has set.

Leave a Reply

