Penny savers recipe: Oat porridge

Rice porridge is a familiar sight in Chinese households, but oat porridge? Oats are not a staple for Chinese families, but somehow I just grew up liking oats. When I was younger, I had sweet oat porridge for breakfast. But I’m actually more of a savory person, so I tried making savory oats one day, and I was hooked!

2015-09-30 11.57.52

Nowadays, when I have craving for rice porridge, I try to incorporate oats, either entirely replacing the rice ingredient, or use a mixture of rice and oats. I like how the oats make the porridge a more sticky consistency, and thus more filling.

Serves 1

  • 3 tbsp oats (rolled is preferable, but instant would be fine too)
  • half a carrot, sliced (about 50 g)
  • about 15g dried scallops
  • about 60-70g mince meat, marinated with a dash of salt and pepper
  • 300ml water
  • sliced spring onions, for garnish
  • sesame oil, to drizzle

Place the water, dried scallops and carrot in a small pot and bring to a boil. Continue to boil until the carrots are soft. Add in the mince meat and cook (you may form meat balls if you wish). When the meat is almost cooked, reduce heat and add in the oats and stir to combine. Let the porridge sit for about 2-3 minutes until the oats soften. You may need to add some water if the consistency is too thick. The porridge should look mushy and the oats should be plump when the porridge is ready.

Garnish with spring onion and sesame oil, and serve up. Enjoy!

—–

Approx. cost of this recipe: €0.85

  • mince meat €0.35
  • half a carrot: husband bought it before I arrived, so cannot determine cost
  • 15g dried scallops: (brought over from SG, but I estimate it to be around €0.50?)
  • 3 tbsp oats: from the pantry
Leave a Reply

