Penny savers recipe: pork & potato in soy sauce

Another of my comfort foods, I remember my grandmother cooking this dish regularly when I was younger. But somehow, I have not tried making it myself. With a big bag of potatoes sitting in the pantry (note to self: don’t be ambitious and buy a 4kg sack of potatoes in future), I set out to recreate this childhood taste. However, I was shocked to learn that my husband has never eaten it before. I have always thought it was a common household dish in Singapore… well, apparently not! Thankfully, his non-fussy taste buds accepted my humble dish.

2015-10-20 10.19.37

Serves 4

  • 100g mince pork, marinated with 1 tsp sesame oil + 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 100g potatoes, sliced
  • 1/2 onion, sliced
  • 1 tsp sesame oil + 1/2 tbsp soy sauce + 50ml water
  • dash of white pepper
  • 1 tsp cornstarch (optional, if you like a thicker sauce)

In a saucepan over medium heat, stir fry the marinated mince pork, breaking up big lumps as you cook. There should not be any need to use oil as the pork should have some fat. When the meat is cooked, dish up the meat, leaving the oil behind.

In the same saucepan, saute the onions till fragrant and add in the potatoes to pan fry until slightly brown. Add in the water + seasonings and cook the potatoes until soft. Add the meat back into the pan and heat through. Season with pepper. If you’d like a thicker gravy, mix 1 tsp cornstarch with some cold water and add to the pot, stirring as you pour in the cornstarch slurry.

—–

Approx. cost of this recipe: €0.54

  • mince pork: €0.45
  • potato: €0.04
  • onion: €0.05
Leave a Reply

