Penny savers recipe: pantry minestrone soup

This recipe is great for those days where I’m feeling lazy. I usually keep stock of some canned staples in my pantry: canned tomatoes and canned white beans will have a permanent spot (besides canned tuna, of course). Couple those with root vegetables that I will always have in my fridge, and I get a quick and healthy meal with minimal fuss.

2016-03-02 17.39.17

Serves 3 as main

  • one can of white beans (800g)
  • one can of crushed tomatoes (400g)
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1 celery stalk, diced
  • vegetable stock (about 400ml)
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • pinch of dried basil & oregano
  • cubed chicken – optional
  • cooked pasta

Take one cup of beans and a small amount of water and puree. Combine the beans/water puree and the remaining stock and vegetables and bring to a boil. Continue to simmer until celery and carrot are cooked, about 10-15 minutes. Taste and season with salt and pepper. Stir in dried herbs before serving.

I feel that blending the beans gives the soup more body and makes you feel fuller for longer (as opposed to a watery soup). If you wish, you can also add cooked chicken for protein and cooked pasta for carbs.

I added half an avocado into my soup because I had a ripe avocado that was begging to be eaten, so why not? The green pops against the red and orange soup… gorgeous. The soup is really forgiving so you can jazz it up, or dress it down, whichever way you want.

Leave a Reply

