Penny savers recipe: ABC soup

Picture1

I was just wondering when I started to write this post: why is ABC soup called ABC soup? It’s a common soup that we drink in Singapore, but I don’t think anyone really knows why the name. Is it because it’s so easy to make, like ABC? Or that the ingredients contain vitamin A, B and C? Or what? If you know the answer, please let me know!!

Anyway, I’m trying to make a soup for dinner every day if I can, since it’s easy and I don’t wish to stuff our bodies with rich, creamy (and fattening) foods. The journey to lose the fats when summer comes by will be arduous.

My favourite kind of Chinese soups would be either old cucumber soup and lotus root soup, but I don’t have any of those ingredients readily available here, so a simple ABC soup will have to do.

Serves 2

  • 2 chicken drumsticks or 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 carrot, sliced into 1/2 inch rounds
  • 1 onion, wedged
  • 2 medium size potatoes, cubed
  • 1 stalk celery, sliced
  • 1 tsp of crushed peppercorns
  • 600ml water
  • salt

Put all ingredients in a soup pot, and bring to a boil. Cover slightly and simmer over low heat for 30-45 min (or use a slow cooker or even better, a thermal pot to save on electricity bills). Season with some salt before serving.

I love that this recipe is very versatile, and you can use pork bones or loin instead of chicken if you prefer. As for the aromatics, you can also use corn to add sweetness to the soup. I usually leave out the corn because I do not have the strength to cut/break the cob into half or threes.=P

If you leave out the chicken, it’s also a quick soup to make in 20 minutes or so. It is just as good, for a vegetarian option. Celery can also be omitted if you don’t keep them on hand, I just like to add them if I have for some extra fiber.

Leave a Reply

