Staycation @ Swissotel Singapore

Oh my, I was looking through my Dropbox folder and saw that I have some photos from our May 2015 staycation at  Swissotel that have yet to be blogged. This staycation happened directly after our staycation at The Scarlet Hotel. Yup, I planned yet another surprise for Mr Goh and hahaha, my clueless husband is clueless.

After checking out from TSH, we went to Prego for a lunch buffet (which by the way, I thought was severely overpriced and just so-so because I don’t like ala carte buffets). Then I led him to the front desk of Swissotel. *cue surprised face from ZH* Hehehe… Check in was relatively quick, considering how busy the hotel was with the SEA games happening that week.

I had booked a room with Harbour View (paid extra for the view), but there was no view to speak off. My balcony was facing the direction of Funan Centre.

Swissotel Harbour View room

Needless to say, I was hugely disappointed and requested for a change of rooms. The replacement room was much better, though the décor was dated (the first room was in the newer wing, while the second room was in the old wing). The balcony faced the Esplanade and MBS directly and we were lucky to have sunny skies that day. By night, the view was even more mesmerizing as the lights of the buildings painted a different scenery from the day.
2015-05-31 15.27.06Swissotel Harbour View room - night2015-05-31 15.09.32

The location of Swissotel was unbeatable. We were not into shopping, so we just lazed around in the room and watched TV until dinner time, went to Suntec City for dinner and strolled back to the hotel via City Link and bought some bubble tea and MacDonalds as post-dinner snacks.

However, comparing Swissotel to The Scarlet, I think we both preferred The Scarlet for its unique décor. Swissotel feels like a business hotel to us with standard amenities and no unique touches.

Leave a Reply

