Recipe: pandan chiffon cake

Picture1
I never thought I would be able to make a chiffon cake because meringues scare me. They are so finicky and hard to handle. But my craving for pandan cake overtook my fear, and I’m glad to be able to achieve moderate success on my third try. My first chiffon cake was underbaked, the second was slightly overbaked and had slightly too much pandan essence, so I tweaked the recipe and got one cake which I liked.

Makes a 17cm cake

  • 3 medium eggs, separated
  • 85g sugar (1/2 cup – 1 tbsp)
  • 40ml vegetable oil (3 tbsp)
  • 75g cake flour (2/3 cup) *
  • 3g baking powder (1 tsp)
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 60ml coconut milk (4 tbsp)
  • 1/4 tsp pandan essence  Edit 28 Mar 2017: I now make my pandan cakes without the essence as I find the taste too artificial. Just the pandan paste is sufficient.
  • 1/4 tsp pandan paste

Picture2

Preheat oven to 170 degree Celsius.

In a bowl, add 1/3 of the sugar to the 3 egg yolks and beat with a whisk, until pale and fluffy. Add the vegetable oil, coconut milk, pandan paste and essence to the yolk mixture and mix until combined. Sift in the flour, salt and baking powder. Mix until no streaks of flour can be seen.

In another bowl, whisk the egg whites until frothy. Add in the remaining sugar gradually and whisk until stiff peaks. (It takes me about 3 mins on high speed on my 450W mixer)
Edit 28 March 2017: I read this tip online- when stiff peaks have been achieved, switch your electric whisk down to low speed and whisk a few more times to stabilize the air bubbles within the egg whites.

Add 1/3 of the egg white mixture to the yolk batter. Stir to combine and create a lighter batter. Gently fold in remaining egg white in 2 additions, mixing the egg white evenly into the batter.
Edit 28 March 2017: folding in egg whites can be tricky, so I now mix in 1/3 of the egg whites into the batter using the electric whisk on low speed (about 3-5 seconds will do, not any longer than that). Then I add another 1/3 of the egg whites, and repeat (it doesn’t have to be evenly incorporated at this stage). I only change to a spatula and fold in the last 1/3 of the egg whites to mix evenly.

Pour your batter slowly into the chiffon tin. Gently run a skewer or knife through the batter to remove any remaining large air bubbles. Place tin into the hot oven, bottom rack. Bake for 35-40 mins. Once done, remove from oven and let the cake cool in the tin, inverted over a cooling rack. Loosen the cooled cake from the tin using a thin blade knife. Invert the cake onto a serving dish (the top of the cake is now the bottom), and enjoy!

*If you do not have access to cake flour like me, try this simple home substitution: 1 cup all-purpose flour – 2 tbsp all-purpose flour + 2 tbsp cornstarch. Sift together 3 times to ensure even distribution of the cornstarch.

Leave a Reply

