My one year anniversary in Germany

One year in Germany. What have I accomplished? Let’s see… my German language skills? I can understand basic conversations by catching key vocabulary but I am still not able to answer very well. I usually just say ‘yes/no, thank you’ and smile. Haha.

I travel a lot, about 600km every week, and I’ve now started to understand why frequent travelers hate traveling. Especially so when I have to wake up when it’s still cold and dark outside, plus fingers crossed that I catch all my connections!

I’ve started working in Germany, at the headquarters of the company I was working at in Singapore, and experienced how it is like to be a minority. And it kinda sucks, more than ever when conversations take place in German and I’m the only one who does not understand the language. I feel so left out and I become withdrawn. It’s not my colleagues’ fault since I’m the foreigner here, but I just appreciate the diversity in Singapore.

As what I have said on my Facebook, sometimes time passes so quickly, we say it flies. But sometimes, it feels like it’s crawling. Especially when I’m working and counting down the days to the weekend or the next holiday. Public holidays are few and far in between in this country, quite different from Singapore. They make up for it by having 30 days annual leave, but the Singaporean in me doesn’t want to spend my vacation days staying at home, doing nothing.

Anyway, it’s now autumn (pumpkin season!), and I should really start planning for my December vacation. I will be taking the last 2 weeks of the year off (Christmas break is mandatory since the office is closed).

We have finally decided on Prague, after having too many different options previously. We are planning to go to Greece for summer next year (I want to visit the DOTS island. HAHA), so we cannot afford to have a big trip now. Since we are located up north in Germany, Prague is not exactly very near us, but luckily we have various travel options such as flying there (4-6 hours), taking the coach (12 hours) or taking the train (8 hours). We eventually settled on taking the bus since we do not have to make any transits with the bus (having missed our train connections way too many times, we are wary now).
article-1342456-0c91d5a5000005dc-292_634x321

Has anyone of you been to Prague? Your tips and recommendations will be very helpful in planning my trip! 

Leave a Reply

