Recipe: chocolate yogurt cake

Sometimes, the best things in life are unplanned and unexpected. Like this tender, moist and chocolatey cake I baked a couple of weeks ago. I decided to bake a cake using the ingredients I had left in my fridge after my dinner party had ended. I will be gone for the long weekend and so I didn’t want the fresh stuff to sit in the fridge for so long.

These were the things I wanted to use up: eggs, yogurt (the main item I wanted to use), milk. I originally wanted to bake a French yogurt cake, flavored with earl grey, however it required me to blend the tea leaves and I didn’t have the proper equipment with me. So I substituted chocolate for earl grey. Pleasant surprise! The Nesquik chocolate powder worked great in a pinch, and it smelt really chocolatey while baking.

The proof is the taste test though. I let it cool slightly for 20 mins (it was tough resisting the temptation), and then I cut a teeny cube to try (teeny is subjective heh). It felt like chocolate angels singing, and I was brought into another yummy dimension. I didn’t expect it because I didn’t use pure cocoa powder but the cake was super chocolatey, and the yogurt made it really moist (not fudgy though). It reminded me of a Sara Lee pound cake, but less heavy on the butter front. The cake was still as moist one day after baking.

The recipe makes a relatively large cake for one, so I suggest to share the love and the extra calories with your loved ones! 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • Wet ingredients: 1/2 cup yogurt + 1/4 cup milk
  • Dry ingredients: 1 cup + 2 tbsp flour + 1/2 cup cocoa powder + 1/2 tsp salt + 1/2 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 175 degrees C.

Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs and vanilla and mix until evenly incorporated. Alternate the wet and dry ingredients 2-3 times into the butter mixture, ending with the dry ingredients. Mix until just combined.

Pour into baking tin (I used a 20cm square tin) and bake for 40-45 mins, until the centre comes out clean when tested with a skewer. Do not overbake because the sides will become dry.

Leave a Reply

