Almond-Chocolate muffins

I frequently try to use yogurt-alternatives* in my baking experiments as I often have them on hand and it reduces the amount of oil I have to use in my recipes. I don’t create recipes on my own but I often adapt the recipes I find online. This particular one I’m going to share below is one that I adapted from Smitten Kitchen.

picture1

Makes 6 muffins

  • 100g chocolate bar (I used a Swiss milk chocolate bar with chopped almonds because it was a gift from someone and I hardly eat chocolate)
  • 64g vegetable oil – about 1/4 cup
  • 150g flour
  • 1 tbsp mocha powder
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 100g sugar
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ cup plain yogurt-alternative*
  • ¼ tsp almond extract
  • 1 tsp vanilla sugar

Preheat oven to 160 degrees. Prepare your muffin tin by using 6 liners or greasing it.

Break chocolate bar into pieces and combine it with half of vegetable oil (32g) in a heatproof bowl. Set the bowl over a pot of boiling water and melt the chocolate.

In a separate bowl, combine the remaining oil, yogurt, sugars, almond essence and egg. Mix evenly.

In your main mixing bowl, combine the flour, mocha powder, baking powder and salt. Make a well in the centre and add the oil-yogurt mixture. Whisk gently. Now pour in the melted chocolate and stir to combine evenly.

Portion your batter into the prepared liners and position muffin tin in the middle of the oven. Bake for 20-24 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean when inserted in the middle of a muffin. Let cool and enjoy/share. The nutty fragrance from the almond essence combined with the moist chocolatey crumbs is just too good to resist!

*I say “yogurt-alternative” as I cannot take dairy yogurt, therefore I’m using Alpro soy yogurt.

Leave a Reply

